Testimonials 

The staff were so welcoming and helpful in every way, as were the owners. Lovely breakfast and the Christmas lunch was out of this world. Great central location and tastefully decorated room.

 

Sally Jean Painter

23rd Dec 2020

If you are wanting a special place where you are looked after like royalty on one hand and like family on the other look no further than Campbell House. All rooms have been beautifully renovated with individual themes from the original 19th centre shophouse and the staff always welcome us warmly ( we choose a different room each time!) We have made this delightful boutique hotel our go-to for a romantic getaway every few months and Il Bacaro, their superb Italian restaurant just finishes off our staycation with elegance. Thankyou Nadia and staff for welcoming us each time. Your service is par excellence, breakfasts amazing and it gives us an opportunity to explore the wonderful nooks and crannies that are the quintessential historic Georgetown.

 

David Cassebohm

9th Dec 2020

“had a short staycation with the gf over the weekend, and boy was the whole experience spectacular! Checking in we were greeted by our friendly receptionist Hema who breezed us through the process. She even helped us book a place for our dinner (and also our lunch the next day later on) as we were informed that their restaurant is usually very packed in the weekends.
The room was spacious and clean (we were staying at the Loft unit), and the food at the restaurant was just as good! The owners Nardya and Roberto were also very friendly and helpful in sharing some information about the building’s architecture to us 🙂 Will definitely return here, probably try another room type for fun haha.

Recommended to try their T-Bone Steak and their Lamb Meat Balls if you ever decide to dine at their restaurant!

 

Jason Kok

17th Oct 2020

Stayed here for my birthday and it was amazing. The room is beautiful and clean and the staff were so friendly at checkin. We stayed in the Colonial room which was right a beautiful outdoor Terrance that looks over Georgetown. The inn is on Campbell Street and is a short walk to all the major attractions of Georgetown. The added is bonus is the Restaurant downstairs Il Bacaro which is Italian menu and the best Italian food I’ve had in a Malaysia. If you’re looking for a place to stay for a romantic Penang getaway this is a perfect location.

 

Jonathan

1st Aug 2020

Great location, old world charm, friendly and helpful owners and staff. Spacious rooms comfortable bed.

Beautiful old world hotel, special attention has been taken to ensure you have a pleasant stay. On arrival we were greeted with a homemade fresh lime and nutmeg drink, it was delicious. Smiling happy staff provided maps and offered advice of things to do and places to go in the area and Penang generally. Fantastic location you can walk to Famous places such as Little India, Love Lane and China Town
The fridge in the room had chilled water plus a jug of lime and nutmeg cordial along with fresh milk for tea or coffee. There is a coffee machine in the room so you can make a decent coffee. The bathroom has quality French products. We were very impressed and will definitely return

 

Christine

16th Mar 2020

Best hotel by far. Beautiful old house. Friendly and super helpful staff. Definitively recommend this hotel. Breakfast is amazing!! We we’re looking for transport from the hotel to perhentian islands for our next visit. The man behind the counter and the owners helped to find us a way of transport. At breakfast you always get asked if you want more. All very friendly and helpful. Every complementary cake is brought to your room.

 

Oscar

16th Sept 2019

The room was beautiful (Peacock Room) as was the rest of the hotel. The amenities were excellent even have a Nespresso coffee machine in the room. The Italian Restaurant on site was excellent but be cautious with what you order the portions are huge! Breakfast was off a menu and freshly prepared, a nice change to the buffet style breakfasts at other hotels. The location of the hotel is excellent, right in Chinatown. It is easy to walk to the major sights and wander the streets and not get lost. ‘Love Lane’ close by is a great place to sit and have a drink and watch the world go by.

 

Steve

2nd Oct 2019

We stayed for 5 days in this beautiful hotel in Georgetown, Penang. The hotel has been thoughtfully renovated and was a pleasure to stay in. Breakfast was generous and the Italian style espresso coffee an unexpected bonus. Nardya, Roberto and their team are to be congratulated for their mix of warmth and professionalism – they were genuinely a pleasure to deal with and I couldn’t fault the experience.

 

Camille

11th Oct 2019

Campbell House is at a most strategic location in Georgetown and walking distance to the best food spots and hawker areas. Hotel owners are most friendly and engaging. Staff Elin at the front desk is a gem helping all guests find the most convenient drivers for their tours in and out of Georgetown, wall art tours and culinary finds. Staff are very friendly and polite and well trained. Food is great and comfort of the room impeccable. I love the toiletries! Hoisting the luggage to your room is quite a unique service.

 

pakbet

15th Nov 2019

I have only praises for this place because seriously there’s nothing to fault. Check in was a breeze, they allowed us to store our baggage 2 days before we checked in (because we have to be somewhere else first before coming back to Georgetown). Room was great!! Simply loved the colourful glass window, the 4-claw bath tub and spacious bathroom. Toiletries are full-sized bottles to reduce single-use plastic bottles…which is a really great go-green move!! The restaurant on street level is where you have your welcome drinks and daily breakfast. Choices of breakfast was good enough for us (we don’t like run of the mill buffet style anyway). So this a-la-carte breakfast style was good for us, served with gourmet coffee of your choice too. Campbell House style of boutique hotel (in my own opinion only tho’) is more for couples, or family with more grown-up kids. Because there’s no swimming pool to entertain toddlers etc. Instead, Campbell House offers their guests, tranquility, peace, relaxed atmosphere and an almost at-home feeling after you walk on the Penang streets after streets, a whole day under the hot sun. Location is a huge big plus too, with all the nice eating places within easy walking distance.

 

happijenn

26th Oct 2019

Ah absolute gem of a hotel in the best location for Georgetown. Lovely rooms with very comfortable beds, and beautiful furniture. The breakfast is very fresh, and prepared and served personally rather than buffet style. The fruit is stunning. All of the staff are genuinely very friendly, and made a big fuss of my wife’s birthday which she loved. We had nice meal in the Italian restaurant downstairs… The lobster risotto was very tasty.

 


 

Gary – 17 Mar 2019

Home away from home! Couldn’t fault this place, from start to finish we were made to feel like special guests. All the staff were very welcoming, helpful and attentive. We were in the Blossom Room and although the smallest out of 11 rooms we found it to be the perfect size for us. Room cafe with coffee machine, DVD player (huge selection of DVDs in library), hairdryer, safe, toiletries, robes, slippers and fresh ice tea and water every day. We also really enjoyed the homemade cakes that were left for us in our room every evening. Amazing location in China Town, walking distance to all the main attractions. Fresh fruit with breakfast every morning and unlimited tea/coffee (latte/cappuccino etc), as well as an amazing selection of hot and cold choices. We also ate in the restaurant one evening and the pizza was delicious. Literally no complaints! Will definitely miss this place and would highly recommend to everyone.

 


 

Cherie – 17th Apr 2019

We spent four nights in Campbell House. This is a small quality hotel with extremely friendly, helpful and professional staff. The three receptionists that we met over the four nights we were there were cheerful and welcoming throughout our stay. Our room had lots of character with a very, very comfortable bed and good furniture pieces. Really tasty cake is delivered to your room each evening, good quality coffee and tea in the room too. I would highly recommend staying in this wonderful hotel which is well positioned to visits the sights.

 


 

Louise – 21st May 2019

This hotel is simply amazing; great location (almost everything in walking distance) extremely clean and beautiful rooms with attention to details, fantastic breakfast and outstanding hospitality by the lovely owners couple and their wonderful staff. Very personal and heartwarming service! Thank you for making our stays always wonderful!

 


 

Andrea -13th Jul 2019

A beautiful hotel, decorated and planned with care, thought and style – wonderful service from front desk through to the kitchen, and perfectly pitched food from the restaurant. If this hotel could be recreated in every city, we would stay there.

 


 

Alano – 13th Aug 2019

Best hotel by far. Beautiful old house. Friendly and super helpful staff. Definitively recommend this hotel. Breakfast is amazing!! We we’re looking for transport from the hotel to perhentian islands for our next visit. The man behind the counter and the owners helped to find us a way of transport. At breakfast you always get asked if you want more. All very friendly and helpful. Every complementary cake is brought to your room.

 


 

Oscar – 16th Sept 2019

The room was beautiful (Peacock Room) as was the rest of the hotel. The amenities were excellent even have a Nespresso coffee machine in the room. The Italian Restaurant on site was excellent but be cautious with what you order the portions are huge! Breakfast was off a menu and freshly prepared, a nice change to the buffet style breakfasts at other hotels. The location of the hotel is excellent, right in Chinatown. It is easy to walk to the major sights and wander the streets and not get lost. ‘Love Lane’ close by is a great place to sit and have a drink and watch the world go by.

 


 

Steve – 2nd Oct 2019

We stayed for 5 days in this beautiful hotel in Georgetown, Penang. The hotel has been thoughtfully renovated and was a pleasure to stay in. Breakfast was generous and the Italian style espresso coffee an unexpected bonus. Nardya, Roberto and their team are to be congratulated for their mix of warmth and professionalism – they were genuinely a pleasure to deal with and I couldn’t fault the experience.

 


 

Camille – 11th Oct 2019

I have only praises for this place because seriously there’s nothing to fault. Check in was a breeze, they allowed us to store our baggage 2 days before we checked in (because we have to be somewhere else first before coming back to Georgetown). Room was great!! Simply loved the colourful glass window, the 4-claw bath tub and spacious bathroom. Toiletries are full-sized bottles to reduce single-use plastic bottles…which is a really great go-green move!! The restaurant on street level is where you have your welcome drinks and daily breakfast. Choices of breakfast was good enough for us (we don’t like run of the mill buffet style anyway). So this a-la-carte breakfast style was good for us, served with gourmet coffee of your choice too. Campbell House style of boutique hotel (in my own opinion only tho’) is more for couples, or family with more grown-up kids. Because there’s no swimming pool to entertain toddlers etc. Instead, Campbell House offers their guests, tranquility, peace, relaxed atmosphere and an almost at-home feeling after you walk on the Penang streets after streets, a whole day under the hot sun. Location is a huge big plus too, with all the nice eating places within easy walking distance.

 


 

happijenn – 26th Oct 2019

Campbell House is at a most strategic location in Georgetown and walking distance to the best food spots and hawker areas. Hotel owners are most friendly and engaging. Staff Elin at the front desk is a gem helping all guests find the most convenient drivers for their tours in and out of Georgetown, wall art tours and culinary finds. Staff are very friendly and polite and well trained. Food is great and comfort of the room impeccable. I love the toiletries! Hoisting the luggage to your room is quite a unique service.

 


 

pakbet – 15th Nov 2019

 Awards